Home | Version française
 
Chargement
You are here : Homepage » Informations search » Territories and infrastructures » Pays » Pays in Manche » Cotentin (Cherbourg)

Contact
EVE direct

If you can't find the information
you are looking for ?
Contact us

Cotentin (Cherbourg)

  Ajouter au panier

A peninsula benefiting equally from its coastal fringe as from its inland territories.
The region's 2nd industrial hub reuniting energy, shipbuilding and agribusiness.
A young population equally present within the Cherbourg urban area and the rest of the peninsula



TERRITORIAL PERIMETER AND GENERAL INFORMATION

The Pays du Cotentin reunites 205 communes spread across 13 communities of communes, the urban community of Cherbourg and 3 isolated communes (Saint-Jacques-de-Nehou, Sottevast and Taillepied). The area covers 1,824m2 and is home to 210,020 inhabitants, representing a population density of 115 inhabitants per km2.

Although the sea predominates, the peninsula is home to many more a farmer than a seafarer. The Cotentin's natural frontiers are predominantly maritime; however the area is also renowned for its rich and diverse countryside (bocage and hillsides, inland marshlands, moorlands, dunes...), and for its many agricultural zones. It is a well-balanced territory with a major urban area, the Urban Community of Cherbourg, together with a rural zone, both reuniting an equal number of inhabitants. The south of the Pays de Cotentin (comprising 61 communes) is part of the Parc Naturel Régional des Marais du Cotentin et du Bessin (Regional Natural Park).
ECONOMIC INFORMATION
The area is highly industrialised and dependent upon four major firms - Areva (8,000 direct and indirect jobs, 3,244 of which are salaried), DCN (Directorate for Naval Construction), EDF (French Electricity Board) (650 jobs and 2,000 service providers), CMN (Normandy Mechanical Construction) – together with the Maîtres Laitiers du Cotentin (639 salaried workers,dairy products). This economic organisation has several consequences on employment:

- A high proportion of skilled workers,
- a low level of employment feminisation (reinforced by the closure of factories traditionally employing female workers)
- an increased weight of intermediate professions,
- a high density of engineers.

The vast influx of young workers during the construction of the Cogema nuclear reprocessing plant and the EDF power station, together with the respective cohort of subcontracting companies, have affected the area's age pyramid. Today, a marked difference can be observed between the very young northern districts and the east and south where the population is far older. The Cotentin has a higher under-20s population level than the national average.
Agriculture specialises in dairy production, breeding and vegetable production. Hence the development of efficient facilities for the transformation and enhancement of primary products. The area has developed « quality » methods in both dairy and vegetable production.

Officially certified as a « Rural Centre of Excellence », SILEBAN (Normandy Investment and Development Company for vegetable and horticultural production) has developed an action programme from 2007 to 2013, based on the implementation of alternative preventive measures to phytosanitary products to ensure the preservation of crops from ravagers (rodents, insects) and disease.





  • Carte du Pays du Cotentin
  • DCN
  • Cap de Carteret
  • CMN catamaran neuf
  • FETE DE LA CAROTTE A CREANCES

Accueil | English version
 
Loading
Vous êtes ici : Accueil » Recherche d'informations » Territoires et infrastructures » Pays » Pays du département de la Manche » Cotentin (Cherbourg)

Contacter
directement EVE

Vous ne trouvez pas l'information
que vous cherchez ?
Contactez-nous

Cotentin (Cherbourg)

  Ajouter au panier

Une presqu'île qui tire tout autant avantage de sa façade maritime que de ses terres
Le 2e pôle industriel de la région : énergie, construction navale et agroalimentaire
Une population jeune répartie à égalité entre l'agglomération cherbourgeoise et le reste du territoire



PÉRIMÈTRE DU TERRITOIRE ET DONNÉES GÉNÉRALES
Le Pays du Cotentin regroupe 205 communes réparties sur 13 communautés de communes, la communauté urbaine de Cherbourg et 3 communes isolées (Saint-Jacques-de-Nehou, Sottevast et Taillepied). Le périmètre du territoire comprend ainsi 210 020 habitants, sur une superficie de 1 824 km2, soit une densité de 115 habitants/km2.
C’est un pays de terriens plus que de marins. Ses frontières naturelles font de ce territoire une zone où prédomine la mer, cependant le Cotentin est également reconnu pour la richesse et la diversité de ses paysages (bocages et coteaux, marais intérieurs, landes, dunes…) ainsi que pour ses nombreuses terres agricoles. C’est un territoire cohérent qui regroupe une zone urbaine importante, la Communauté Urbaine de Cherbourg et une zone rurale avec chacune un nombre égal d’habitants. Le sud du territoire du Pays (61 communes) s’inscrit dans le périmètre du Parc Naturel Régional des Marais du Cotentin et du Bessin.

DONNÉES ÉCONOMIQUES
Le territoire est fortement industrialisé et dépendant de quatre grands donneurs d’ordre – Areva (8 000 emplois directs et indirects dont 3 244 salariés), DCN, EDF (650 emplois et 2 000 prestataires), CMN – ainsi que des Maîtres Laitiers du Cotentin (639 salariés). Cette orientation économique a plusieurs conséquences sur l'emploi :
- une proportion importante d’ouvriers qualifiés,
- un taux faible de féminisation des emplois (renforcé par la fermeture d'usines employant traditionnellement des femmes)
- un poids plus important des professions intermédiaires,
- une forte densité d’ingénieurs.
La venue importante de jeunes actifs durant les années de construction de la Cogema et de la centrale EDF, ainsi que la cohorte de leurs entreprises sous-traitantes ont des conséquences sur la pyramide des âges. Il y a aujourd'hui une différence nette entre l'ouest plus jeune et l'est et le sud dont la population est plus âgée. Le Cotentin possède un taux de population de moins de 20 ans plus élevé que la moyenne nationale.
L'agriculture est spécialisée dans la production laitière, l’élevage et la production légumière. Elle a permis ainsi de mettre en place des outils performants de transformation et de valorisation des produits primaires. Elle a adopté des méthodes de production de « qualité » tant au niveau de la production laitière que maraîchère.
Officiellement labellisé « Pôle d’excellence rurale », SILEBAN (Société d'Investissement et de Développement des cultures légumières et horticoles en Basse-Normandie) s’est fixée un programme d’actions pour la période 2007-2013, basé sur la mise en œuvre de moyens de lutte alternatifs à l’utilisation des produits phytosanitaires pour la préservation du capital de production des cultures contre les atteintes des ravageurs (rongeurs, insectes) et maladies.





  • Carte du Pays du Cotentin
  • DCN
  • Cap de Carteret
  • CMN catamaran neuf
  • FETE DE LA CAROTTE A CREANCES
***